Frederick L. Hemke Saxophone Institute Faculty

Artistic Director

Picture of Frederick L Hemke, Saxophone, Artistic Director

Dr. Frederick L. Hemke


Frederick L Hemke Saxophone Institute; Professor Emeritus, Northwestern University

Program Director

Gail B Levinski, musician, conductor at New England Music Camp

Dr. Gail B. Levinsky


Associate Professor of Music, Susquehanna University. Active soloist, adjudicator, clinician. Regional Director North American Saxophone Alliance.

Featured Artist


Dr. John W. Sampen

As one of America’s leading concert saxophonists, John Sampen is particularly recognized as a distinguished artist in contemporary literature. Dr. Sampen is a Distinguished Artist Professor at Bowling Green State University and is Past President of the North American Saxophone Alliance.

Guest Artist



Sean Hurlburt, Saxophone at New England Music Camp

Dr. Sean Hurlburt


Co-founder of the Amethyst Quartet, he continually works to promote and legitimize saxophone quartet in the chamber music world. Sean received his bachelors and masters degrees in saxophone performance at Northwestern University under the tutelage of Dr. Frederick L. Hemke.

Sharon Peterson

Sharon Peterson


Pianist for the Chicago Symphony Chorus since auditioning as a North Park College, (now University,) student in 1978, Sharon R. Peterson continues as Accompanist for the CSC as well as for the trombone studio at Northwestern University, and the saxophone studios at DePaul and Roosevelt Universities.

Previous Featured Artist


Masato Kumoi Saxophone Quartet


Masato Kumoi: Soprano Saxophone, Wataru Sato: Alto Saxophone, Kazuyuki Hayashida: Tenor Saxophone, Takahiro Nishio: Baritone Saxophone